Was World Series' Muncy-Adames Tag Play at 2B the New Gant-Hrbek?
Published at : 25 Oct 2020
Dodgers batter-runner Max Muncy slid into second base in Game 4 of the 2020 World Series, colliding with Rays SS Willy Adames and ultimately resulting in an out call from 2B Umpire Mark Carlson...but was it correct?
The question at hand is whether or not Adames forced Muncy off of the base illegally: What is the actual rule? According to baseball's official interpretation, if a runner is pushed or forced off a base by a fielder at which the runner would have otherwise been called safe, the umpire has the authority and discretion to award the runner the base.
But the phrase "would have otherwise been called safe" is a deep well: This video discussion how an umpire determines whether this criterion has been satisfied, relative to a runner's demonstration of body control (or lack thereof), excess momentum, fielder's actions, and totality of the play.
Finally, we compare and contrast Muncy-Adames with Gant-Hrbek (including audio from Drew Coble, who was the umpire for the Gant-Hrbek play in Minnesota) to determine whether Muncy should have been deemed safe or whether Carlson's out call was proper.